Deciphering Toddler

I am always up for a good challenge. Lately, that challenge is deciphering my toddler’s very intentional phrases and “words”. It is really quite fun! He recently started to adamantly and carefully put different sounds together as he attempts to say words and phrases that sound like what Dad and Mom are saying.

We can see the focused and determined look on his face as he tells us things and we carefully try to understand. He can clearly tell that there are times when we still don’t understand. But one of the more thrilling words he just recently put together is “trac-tor”! Our little man gets most excited seeing tractors, semis, pick-ups and 4-wheelers more than other wheeled machines. And since he has spent a lot of time in the tractor this planting season, it comes as no surprise to hear him excitedly repeat “trac-tor” throughout the day and while helping Daddy plant.

Sometimes reading my Bible is like trying to understand our toddler. I am reading along and suddenly realize that I am not sure what the Lord means or I have been thrown off by Jesus’ words or why a particular story includes certain details. The more I pay attention to our little man and closely observe, the more clearly I understand what he means. Similarly, the more time I spend in the Word and in the Lord’s will, the more clearly I understand what I read. Understanding my little man is helpful for our relationship and understanding God’s Word is helpful for all the relationships in my life.

“As for you, the anointing which you received from Him abides in you, and you have no need for anyone to teach you; but as His anointing teaches you about all things, and is true and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you abide in Him.” 1 John 2:27

Reading the Bible may feel like trying to decipher a complex toddler at times, but I know that things are made clear little bit by little bit as long as I am invested in my relationship with Jesus. I also know that I may never fully understand everything about my little man or what he means no matter what age he is at! But, the challenges of each are worth every minute to me because both come with their rewards. Hearing our toddler confidently say “trac-tor” to me this week was one of those worthwhile moments!

“You have removed all the wicked of the earth like dross; Therefore I love Your testimonies. My flesh trembles for fear of You, And I am afraid of Your judgments.” Psalm 119:119-120

 “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.” John 14:26

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
