On Purpose

I really enjoy watching our little man play. He is quite often very intentional & thoughtful about what it is he is doing. He carefully studies things indoors and out, but thankfully not trying to taste everything like he often did at first.

Watching him explore and bring purpose to his playing and daily activities has been a great reminder to me about how I should go about more things in my life more purposefully. It is easy to kick ‘er down into autosteer at times (any moms out there with me?). Not only that, but I am reminded to ask myself regularly, “As I grow in the Lord, am I continually living my life with a purpose? Because I really should be…”

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

A good reminder that sometimes purposeful actions look messy to observers! Haha!

This is a good reminder that there is a promise that comes with living purposefully for Christ in the way we are each called to do. (I’d encourage you to read the whole chapter, as it is easy to get the wrong idea of a false promise that everything in our lives will be peachy when reading that verse alone.)

Yet, I’ve noticed that when my son gets tired out, his level of focus drops and he begins to aimlessly push things around or dump things out (or walk around whining). That makes me wonder: Do I often find myself less focused on my calling and just going through the motions because I am tired? My actions become less purposeful…I’ve put myself into autosteer.

We use autosteer on the farm to keep our tractors going in a straight line, but when we need to turn or encounter an obstacle, we need to regain control of steering the tractor in order to maneuver correctly – we choose to pay attention and take purposeful action. But there is a fine line when it is easy to sit back and let the tractor do the work and we don’t take that purposeful action. That would result in bad consequences…a chain reaction of them. I could take that further in this analogy as well, but I’ll leave it here with you for now. 🙂

My encouragement to you is to evaluate your current situation. Does it feel more like autosteer is directing your life or that you are letting the Lord guide you as you steer in a purposeful way? Consider the value of being intentional.

“Many plans are in a man’s heart, But the counsel of the Lord will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

Remember, the Lord and His purposes are perfect, we are not. Don’t let doubt creep in and affect your desire to live an intentionally purposeful life. I knoew every time I see my little man play with purpose (and often when driving his John Deere equipment around), I’m reminded to examine my own life.

“Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony of our Lord or of me His prisoner, but join with me in suffering for the gospel according to the power of God, who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which was granted us in Christ Jesus from all eternity.” 1 Timothy 1:8-9

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
