Out of Practice

You know the saying “Practice makes Perfect”? Well, there are some who would argue and say that the saying isn’t quite acurate, yada yada. But, practice does help us improve no matter what saying by which you choose to subscribe or unsubscribe.

Just this past week I was able to fit in some time in the evening hours for a photo shoot of our son’s Grandpas out combining wheat. I grabbed my gear (which I finally had time to clean too…the attention once given to my poor photo equipment has now been replaced by a new baby in the house!) and took off out the door. Once out in the field, I went through the usual routine:

  • Take a look at my surroundings -compose a story or photos in my head that capture what I am seeing
  • Walk around, check angles, figure out where the equipment is going and when
  • Then I always think about how the lighting will affect my photo & how I can use it to my advantage
  • Determine how to compose my shot + the following shots since I have to shoot on the move (farmers do not stop their work for photographers, even when family)
  • Camera on & check lighting, focus, speed, etc.
  • Compose, focus and start shooting
  • And as I eluded to earlier….move and shoot and adjust on the go

This time though, the outcome was a little less than favorable. Take a look at my photo for yourself…it is painful to look at isn’t it? _DSC1475

So, the result is ugly. Nothing is in focus. And a few photos later, I still hadn’t identified my problem as quickly as usual, which became frustrating. I am definitely out of practice: not taking time out of my regular schedule to take photos – a bad routine that started after we discovered our little boy was coming – has resulted in my mind not being as sharp as it used to be when it comes to taking photos on point. At one time I could set everything right on point the first shot. And if it wasn’t, I knew exactly how to troubleshoot, adjust and take the desired image in the next shot. 

It became a painful reminder of the lack of attention I’ve given my passion in the last year. When I put a little more time into thinking about it, there are many areas of my life that could use a little more “practice” (or just attention even). That goes to say within reason of course. Having a child, just like other life changes, alters a person’s priorities. (Trust me…my floors are not as spotless as they used to be!)

That also brings to light a question as to living life: “Do I daily practice living like Christ?” 

“Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor; not lagging behind in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord; rejoicing in hope, persevering in tribulation, devoted to prayer, contributing to the needs of the saints, practicing hospitality.” Romans 12:10-13

When I don’t daily practice living like Christ, it becomes easier to live for myself. Thankfully, God is gracious and merciful and I am forgiven. But in order to keep serving Him, I have to put aside my selfish ambition, and desire to daily practice a lifestyle of serving Him. And you know what, just like the satisfaction of getting a beautiful photo due to practice, I have a blessed and full life when I practice living a Christ-centered life. I just can’t even express how wonderful (not always easy mind you) it is and how blessed I feel when I take time to look. 

Signing off tonight with a full heart and a reminder to practicing daily what is important to you! 

Comments
One Response to “Out of Practice”
  1. Donna says:

    You are spot on, Shawna. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
