On the Victory

For at least a year, my dear, wonderful husband has been consistently asking me to try a ride on his Victory. And the question was already on the tip of his tongue for our first ride out earlier this spring.

That may not really sound like a big request of someone like myself, who seems to not think about danger before going about my activities, but in the last few years I’ve gotten a bit “soft”. (Yes Dad, I am admitting that on my blog now!) I say this because while living on the farm, my brothers, friends and I did many dangerous things, but we knew how to handle ourselves and whatever we were working with, so fear didn’t enter our minds. But after living in the city for the last many (too many) years, I’ve noticed that I’m more cautious of things that in the past I handled with now flavor of fear.

So now when my husband asks me to take his bike for a spin, and I’m comfortable and very used to my (little) Harley Sportster 883, I don’t feel like that’s a good idea (especially if we want to avoid damage via tipping it). But he is a very insistent (and of course, encouraging in this) man. And earlier this week he succeeded in me caving to his repetitive requests.

Riding down the highway on his Victory Vegas 8 Ball was not as uncomfortable as I originally thought. In fact, other than a few things like weight and how it handles, I enjoyed it (shh…don’t tell him! I still REALLY love my Harley). Sadly, this reminded me how I’m a chicken these days compared to my raised-on-a-farm self. But I also realized, while cruising down the highway on his shiny black cycle, that it is so easy to get comfortable with something and not rise up to the next challenge. For me, a person who thrives off of having challenges, it was a shocking realization that I had gotten so content with something that I didn’t want to feel uncomfortable. The Lord was kindly reminding me that He is pushing me to go beyond what I am comfortable with and that the old “careless” me was a good thing (to an extent of course). Sometimes jumping in is better than over-thinking the dangers (may it be physical danger or going against the ways of the world) when it comes to what He is calling me to do.

IMG_5560Ouch. I have gotten soft in life as well, haven’t I? I’ve allowed myself to ignore the fact that the Lord is calling me into uncomfortable situations, where He will prepare me and be with me to share His word and lift those up who are unable to lift themselves up. And when I rely upon Him, He will help lift me up out of situations where I do get caught. Then I learn and move on. But to become too cautious can be just as dangerous as not being cautious enough.

With that little thought, I’d like to leave you with a Bible verse as a reminder to not be afraid to move to the next challenge, no matter how much more intimidating it may seem than the place you’re at now. It’s never too much (even when we feel like it is) when we rely upon the Lord as He guides and protects. Even Paul pointed out that their hope in God delivering them is what got them through the burdens they faced.

Knowing that my full trust is in Christ Jesus gives me the comfort I need to be uncomfortable.

“For we do not want you to be unaware, brethren, of our affliction which came to us in Asia, that we were burdened excessively, beyond our strength, so that we despaired even of life; indeed, we had the sentence of death within ourselves so that we would not trust in ourselves, but in God who raises the dead; who delivered us from so great a peril of death, and will deliver us, He on whom we have set our hope. And He will yet deliver us, you also joining in helping us through your prayers, so that thanks may be given by many persons on our behalf for the favor bestowed on us through the prayers of many. For our proud confidence is this: the testimony of our conscience, that in holiness and godly sincerity, not in fleshly wisdom but in the grace of God, we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially toward you.” 2 Corinthians 1:8-12

 

 

Comments
One Response to “On the Victory”
  1. Ann says:

    Great post! And nice bikes…..be careful please. I know our LORD is watching over you both. Blessings from Him.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
