Continually Thankful

The New Year has begun! We are now welcoming 2015 into our lives, which means it’ll now take me half of the year to get the date right when I write it down. Oh well, at least the other half I’ll get it right!

So many articles, blog posts and highlights I read this time of year talk about “starting fresh” and “new beginnings”. I’ve even written such a post in my past! So, instead of writing something you’ll already be reading all over the internet and in the newspapers, I’m going to talk about something you read all over during Thanksgiving: giving thanks! Ha!

Lately, I’ve been reading through the Psalms. A few weeks ago I reached Psalm 105. Reading through all 45 verses made me realize how much I fall short of being truly thankful. It’s so easy to be thankful when things go my way, but I need more reminders to be so when things aren’t going my way.

“Oh give thanks to the Lord, call upon His name; make known His deeds among the peoples. Sing to Him, sing praises to Him; speak of all His wonders. Glory in His holy name; let the heart of those who seek the Lord be glad. Seek the Lord and His strength; seek His face continually. Remember His wonders which He has done, His marvels and the judgments uttered by His mouth.” Psalm 105:1-5

The Psalm walks though a time in history of God’s people with Him when He did not forget them but instead fulfilled His promise. Our God is a God of honor and always gives me reasons to be thankful, even when there may be a difficult situation I’m facing. I’d encourage you to read the whole of Psalm 105, as it is a great reminder to me to CONTINUALLY be thankful, whether it’s for little or big things. It’s a great way to start the New Year!

“And He brought forth His people with joy, His chosen ones with a joyful shout. He gave them also the lands of the nations, that they might take possession of the fruit of the peoples’ labor, so that they might keep His statutes and observe His laws, Praise the Lord!” Psalm 105:43-45

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
