Naturally Lost

There are only a few places I can think of off of the top of my head where I have actually wanted to be lost, may it be physically or even in thought, just to get away from life and enjoy God’s creation in peace.

But looking back on this year, there is ONE place where I was able to kick back (even with two others in my hiking party around), soak in a breath-taking view and get lost in my thoughts. Fortunately, physically lost was not part of this adventure!

Lost Lake, as it is named, was my beautiful destination in the wilderness of Wyoming where I experienced the true sounds and beauties of God’s creation. It is surrounded by wilderness with no through-roads, majestic mountains and the pure sounds of creation (much like my home farm…minus the roads and mountains, obviously).

Walking from rock to rock on the shore’s edge, listening to the cascading stream that the lake flows into and glancing at the shimmering water and soaring surrounding mountains, all my senses were heightened. It was not in a frightful way, but rather in a way that made me wish I was physically lost for that moment. A moment where I didn’t care how I got there or how to get back, but for a short time I had nothing else to think of or worry about.

A moment where my soul was so full of thankfulness to God for FINALLY having a sight of beauty in front of me that I had worked so hard and waited so long to see (it had been a few years since I was blessed with a hike in the mountains…I desperately longed for the adventure by this year’s time). And after that long wait, the Lord blessed me with something I could only have dreamed of experiencing: Lost Lake!

Just walking up to the lake and looking out toward the mountains rising out of the water made me feel lost, with not a care in the world. Everything just melted away and concerns were forgotten.

While Lost Lake made me feel lost for worries and cares for just a moment, there is One who can take care of my worries and cares forever. His name is Jesus, and these are His words:

“For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? And why are you worried about clothing? Observe how the lilies of the field grow; they do not toil nor do they spin, yet I say to you that not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more clothe you? You of little faith! Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 7:25-34

So, as we cruise into the new year, I would encourage you to find your Lost Lake. But instead of letting that be the place where you temporarily lose your worries and concerns, let it be the place where you give them all to the Lord Jesus. And you can walk away free with a glorious landscape all around because your viewpoint will be changed. God is so good.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
