Call & Seek

As we approach Thanksgiving and time with our family, a few verses in Psalms have grabbed my attention. This year has been a full year of activity and seeing God’s glorious wonders for me, as well as a lot of time with family and friends! There are so many blessings that I am able to count.

“Oh give thanks to the Lord, call upon His Name; make known His deed among the peoples. Sing to Him, sing praises to Him; Speak of all His wonders. Glory in His Holy Name; let the heart of those who seek the Lord be glad. Seek the Lord and His strength; seek His face continually. Remember His wonders which He has done, His marvels and the judgements uttered by His mouth.” Psalm 105:1-5

These few verses really pushed my mind to glimpse into all the blessings and opportunities I do have and reminded me how I need to  share praises of the Lord to all others. He is marvelous. He is glorious. He is joyous. He is creator and sustainer.

The passage is just so simple and deep at the same time. God’s word really makes me dig deeper into myself and where I am headed with God’s direction. Not only do I take the time to thank Him, but also to seek Him and move forward. These verses point to joy and the greatness of God being displayed as I seek Him. And they are a call to action. “Continually” really gives a visual of going on and on without ceasing. In a time of Thanksgiving it is easy to seek Him out in thanks and in hope. But the real test comes when I face those hard times. As I look back, it is those hard times that I am thankful the Lord brought me through when I sought Him.

_DSC2226Along with the call to seek Him, there is the call to remember Him and make His deeds known. I fall short of this often. Sometimes simply because I am afraid of judgement from those who are suspicious or do not believe. However, we are also to remember God’s marvels and judgements…which are greater that the words of the people around me.

So as the week rolls on and we approach Thanksgiving, family time and the end of the year, take time to consider what the Lord has done in your life this past year. There are many things to be thankful for; take time to thank our Almighty and seek His plan as you move forward. And when people are truly thankful, they always share their joys with others. True? Then keep that in mind the next time the Lord does something wonderful in your life…I know I need to!

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Call & Seek”
  1. Ann says:

    Nicely written! What a reflective reminder to give thanks and praise in all circumstances, not just a few here and there.

    ……and then to share them with others.

    Great Psalm. Thank-you for sharing your heart. May God Bless you and yours.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
