Quiet Serenity

I am an energetic person, so peace and quiet are not something I seek often. Generally speaking, I gravitate toward social time and activities that involve movement. My calmness tends to come from keeping my home and work spaces organized, clean and neat or from taking time to enjoy the outdoors away from technology.

And as far as the outdoors go, my mind keeps wandering back to a few striking scenes I experienced in Wyoming that really brought forth that wow factor that put me in a tranquil but majestic place. The landscapes were so captivating that I just wanted to build my house in front of them and live there forever.

Then, when coming home, I am able to find the fascinating scenes that convey their own unique version of serenity on our family farm. When I take that time to enjoy the light, anytime of the day or night, and how it lies on the beautiful farmland and wilderness, it gives me that same feeling. It is a space where I really connect with the Lord and am able to distinguish thoughts, desires, the Lord’s will in situations, and so much more in my life.

“…be diligent to be found by Him in peace, spotless and blameless, and regard the patience of our Lord as salvation; just as also our beloved brother Paul, according to the wisdom given him, wrote to you, as also in all his letters, speaking in them of these things, in which are some things hard to understand, which the untaught and unstable distort, as they do also the rest of the Scriptures, to their own destruction. You therefore, beloved, knowing this beforehand, be on your guard so that you are not carried away by the error of unprincipled men and fall from your own steadfastness, but grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory, both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” 2 Peter 3:14-18

Shed Driveway

No matter where I am, it is God’s creation that really gives me a peace and understanding. I am thankful to the Lord that He has given me the gift to enjoy those moments and places that bring a composed quiet into my life. And each of those landscapes I’ve enjoyed has presented the real powerful glory of the Lord, which brings a sense of awe into each.

“Who has measured the waters in the hollow of His hand, and marked off the heavens by the span, and calculated the dust of the earth by the measure, and weighed the mountains in a balance and the hills in a pair of scales?” Isaiah 40:12

As my family ramps up for the coming harvest, there are moments that are an absolute organized crazy and others that bring a quiet joy. So remembering the importance in relying on the Lord for peace in my life is valuable. My advice to you as the fall is filled with changes is to find that place where the Lord really speaks to you and that you can separate crazy life in order to have that time with God in quiet serenity, away from the ‘crazy’ life presents. Blessings to you as you seek that balance!

Comments
One Response to “Quiet Serenity”
  1. Ann says:

    Excellent piece of writing here and your photography is captivating. Keep up the great work as our LORD leads you, Continually Still.

    The Scriptures you posted here spoke truth into me today. Praise His Holy Name.

    May God Bless you and yours.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
