Peaceful Eerie Feeling

Growing up on the farm gave me a unique perspective to many phenomenona. And after spending time outside everyday, often all day long, I quickly learned how to read simple clues as to the type of weather coming my way. Often times, as the sky grew cloudy, the air balmy and a windy day came screeching to a calm halt – I knew I was in for a good storm.

As a mini thunderstorm approached our city one evening this past week, many of those signs were there. And as the tension of a storm built, so did my excitement – both for a relief to the heavy humidity and for lightning and thunder.

While my husband stood looking out our large living room window at the lightning and rain, we talked about the times we remember watching thunderstorms from inside farm sheds with open doors with feelings of excitement at times and dread at others (usually after just driving in a tractor, truck or lawn mower to protect it from the nearing downpour).

Our conversation took me back to when I was a child and I spent dark evenings, even late night hours, staring out our big picture window watching the progress of storms as they passed over our farm. I could see out from the hill our home sat on all the way to the river as if it were daylight when a flash of lighting filled the sky. And the thunder would roar across the yard and our field below. I was excited to see a different perspective of my surroundings, and to experience the thrilling eerie feeling of the anticipation of the storm as well as the peacefulness of the storm exiting from above.

IMG_2043Often times I experience that same eerie feeling of anticipation of a moment or exciting adventure in life where I do not know what the outcome will be. And afterwards, I have that peaceful feeling knowing that God guided me through it and He continues to be with me no matter the circumstances that follow. I am thankful that I know and trust the Lord because that eerie or sometimes unsure feeling is always followed by a peacefulness, especially when making big situations. When I’m not in good surroundings or when I’m in a relationship I should to be, that peacefulness never comes.

My encouragement to you is to seek the Lord, trust Him and hold on to the peace He gives you. Don’t let worldly influences take that peace you gain from Him that passes all understanding.

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you. Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” John 14:26-27 (Jesus Words)

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
