Serene Scene

My experience with travel this summer has been a unique one. Nothing has turned out quite as planned, but instead the Lord had unexpected plans for me that have been enjoyable.

A trip to the mountains this past week was another great example of how the Lord changed my vacation plans once again. One member of our group unfortunately suffered from heat stroke as we began our week-long trek through the back country. So what had began as a backpacking trip through the Wind River Range, became a road trip with decisions made on the whim (and a chance for her to recover while still enjoying some fantastic scenery and the great outdoors). What a blast!

As we drove off toward Jackson to eat and take the Tetons by storm, we decided to title our trip “A Tour of the Mountains of Wyoming”. Epic huh?

Among the epic title, our trip displayed some fantastic short hikes, glorious mountain vistas, glittering waters, colorful springs and erupting geysers. One evening in particular stood out in my mind.

It was an evening filled with a quiet, picturesque scene. My environment was really a pure definition of serenity: clear of storms or unpleasant change, market by or suggestive of utter calm and unruffled repose or quietude.

On the north side of Jackson Lake’s Coulter Bay was an inlet with a stone shoreline on our side. Mountains majestically rose up across the inlet out of the glassy waters and a foggy mist surrounded their peaks. The peaceful stillness I experienced stands out in my mind every time I look at a photo of the view I had sitting in my new favorite spot on Jackson Lake.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I took time to read a bit of Psalm, the following verses really stood out to me here.

“God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change and though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea; though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains quake at its swelling pride. There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy dwelling places of the Most High. God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.” Psalm 46:1-5

While the waters were silent and there were no voices to be heard around me, God’s power and strength really showed through. The grandeur of the mountain scene left an impression of glory, clarity and peace on my soul. The Lord provided me with the serene mountainous scene I had been longing to see this summer. I was engrossed in a panorama that I have yet to find words wonderful enough to describe. What a blessing! I hope my photos can give you a little view of the glory I experienced.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
