One-Year Old Take Over

So, on a not so average day around our home, I babysat one of my best friend’s little man for the day. Having an energetic one-year-old running around the home and outside for 7 hours was sure a lot of fun! And now I know why God blessed my dear friend with so much energy in the first place!

One thing I love about little Parker, is that he has gotten to that stage of walking all over on his own…which means curiosity rules much of his decisions on where to go and what to do. His curiosity was a reminder to me to be more curious about who the Lord is and to continue searching His Word. Right now I have started reading through Psalms and it is amazing to me how our Lord Jesus Christ is so powerful and mighty.

“Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live and keep Your Word. Open my eyes, that I may behold wonderful things from Your law.” Psalm 119:17-18

Another thing I noticed about Parker that really encouraged me was that just the simple things were really what got him excited. I mean, Laura was a PREPARED mother and came with everything little Parker could want for a day (and an overnight stay!). (I love this about her by the way). His toys were fine, but he got to excited when I handed him a spatula and an empty yogurt container. I mean EXCITED! They were both such simple items, things I use in my kitchen often, and he would not let go of them for the rest of the day-especially that spatula. I couldn’t get him to put it down for our outdoor time, so we took it with us!

This was a great reminder to me to pay attention to the simple things and enjoy them completely. I don’t need the fanciest thing on the market, just something that works and does the job well. Since I have yet to have kids, I think this was also a reminder to me to remember what is important. Sometimes, the simplest things are all we need. I think there are times I’d like to even not have internet on my phone…my life would be so much simpler! Ah, if only! Ha! It is hard to go without once we have. Maybe we should take a step back, take the time to analyze what really matters, and spend our time on that. The joy that will bring.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-21

So, after having a one-year old take over our apartment for the day, I was reminded of a few valuable lessons. Not only that, but boy did I stay busy and have an enjoyable day. That Parker is just a bundle of joy, excitement, smiles and energy! Just like his adorable mother! Thank you dear (and your husband) for letting me spend a day with your little man – he is so special!

“Thy Word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” Psalm 119:11

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments
One Response to “One-Year Old Take Over”
  1. Ann says:

    Love this one! What a handsome young toddler!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
