Cold as Ice

As I stood their taking in the wonder in front of me, I felt so excited and full of joy. I was finally there to see an amazing spectacle. Looking at the breathtaking cliffs adorned with semi-truck sized icicles and crawling through caves with rock and ice surrounding me, my curiosity flourished.

My desire to keep walking along the cliffs and exploring past sunset was so strong, it overcame any tiredness I may have felt from walking all day or desire to drink water. No photo I could take would ever encompass what I felt when I walked along that shoreline and hugged those gigantic icicles.

It was such a blessing for me to have the opportunity to view the ice caves and giant icicles hanging of the cliffs of the Lake Superior Shoreline near the Apostle Islands, all with two of my most adventurous friends by my side. How could I not look at those cliffs and icicles and see God’s Glory?!? They were so large, yet God’s Glory is so much larger!

“The heavens are telling of the glory of God; and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.” –Psalm 19:1

As we drove away from the shoreline that the Lord adorned with burnt orange cliffs and frozen, glittering waterfalls, I realized what a gift it was from Him to be able to see giant wonders of His creation. And I wondered, as the awe had affected me so much and I didn’t display much grace in our conversation out there, had I become unfeeling as winter had droned on in my part of the country for several VERY COLD months already? Had I become cold lately, just like the shoreline of icicles I witnessed? The Lord warns us against how dangerous this can be in His Word.

“…The Holy Spirit rightly spoke through Isaiah the prophet to your fathers, saying, ‘Go to this people and say, “You will keep on hearing, but will not understand; and you will keep on seeing, but will not perceive; for the heart of this people has become dull, and with their ears they scarcely hear, and they have closed their eyes; otherwise they might see with their eyes, and hear with their ears, and understand with their heart and return, and I would heal them.”’” –Acts 28:25b-27

Wow, was it ever easy to become unfeeling of heart if I wasn’t careful, even when I spent time with the Lord. But the lack of remembrance of His many glories and many mercies can take its toll. Thankfully, He blessed me with this humbling experience at how small I was even compared with His icicle creation! And He reminded me that the condition of my heart was traveling down an intensely frozen path. There is hope however, as in the Old Testament God even promises those whose hearts have become cold that He will bring them back to Him:

“I will give them a heart to know Me, for I am the Lord; and they will be My people, and I will be their God, for they will return to Me with their whole heart.” –Jeremiah 24:7

Thankfully, I was reminded before my heart was hardened and I walked away from Jesus. I am ever so grateful for His grace! And I am also thankful for understanding how His Glory touches hearts, and I need to be more understanding of the heart’s of others and the situations they may be walking through. I can do so without agreeing with their life choices.

“And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.” –John 1:14

I will leave you to be inspired with some of the photos I was able to snatch of God’s creation. Keep in mind, these by no means capture the grandeur of these amazing icicles decorated cliffs!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
