Taking the Unplanned Route

Over this past week I attended soybean research proposal sessions for work.  And while sitting through these sessions and being given objective after objective, I realized something. So many times I want to put my life into objectives. What do I want to accomplish next? Have I accomplished what I want to so far? Are the results I’ve achieved what I originally aimed for?

Objective: a specific result that a person or system aims to achieve within a time frame and with available resources. Objectives are basic tools that underlie all planning and strategic activities. They serve as the basis for creating policy and evaluating performance.

There are many times in life when I need objectives to help guide myself toward my goals. Just like in the scientific process we need objectives to guide direction and reach the end goal. But there are times when I need to realize that having life goals is one thing, but to follow the Lord’s plan for my life is more important. I need to make sure my objectives do not overshadow the Lord’s daily calling in my life but instead align with His ultimate goals for me. I need to be ready to throw out my objectives if He presents another plan.

“But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh. For the flesh sets its desire against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; for these are in opposition to one another, so that you may not do the things that you please.” –Galatians 5:16-17

IMG_2439It is also a good reminder to live each day for what it is. When I am so focused on my objectives to achieve my goals I tend not to take as good of a look at what is going on around me and the lives of the people around me. And I know fulfilling each objective is not as important as meeting the needs of those around me.

“For God is not unjust so as to forget your work and love which you have shown toward His name, in having ministered and in still ministering to the saints. And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence so as to realize the full assurance of hope until the end, so that you will not be sluggish, but imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises.” –Hebrews 6:10-12

So, while objectives may be important for the scientific process and reaching an end goal, they are not everything in life. Do not be burdened by the objectives. Be open and willing to drop the objectives and take an off-road, unplanned route. That’s what the stream always does; it’s path is ever changing and it does reach it’s end goal no matter if it reaches each objective or not. It’s worth the risk – the rewards are bigger than just accomplishing those goals!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
