Target Practice

I am a sucker for a good challenge. And this weekend, I enjoyed a sweet shooting challenge! Last Christmas, my brother received a dueling target, and so we were able to duel one another this weekend! A dueling target is one with circle targets on two sides of it. When the circle targets on my side would be hit, they swing to the other side of the target, my opponent’s side. And at the end, I win if I have the least amount of circle targets on my side. So, this weekend, when the target was brought out and it was suggested we take one another on in teams of two, I was in!

While we were all intensely shooting at the dueling target, the circles kept swinging back and forth, but in the end, my team won (mostly due to my brother on my team)! And it also might be partly because my dear husband’s gun wasn’t sighted in, so none of his shots were hitting the target.

To hit a target at a certain distance accurately when we are target shooting or hunting, we have to do what is called “sighting in the gun”. This entails shooting at a target and adjusting the scope or the sights to match up with where the gun in shooting. So, when we look down the sights, we are actually looking where the bullet will go into the target.

Sometimes in life, I might try to do something or handle a life’s situation. My shot at making things work on my own though falls short.

“There is a way which seems right to a man. But its end is the way of death.” -Proverbs 14:12

I guess when those things happen and I fall short, I need to get sighted in. I need to line up how I want to handle situations with how the Lord calls me to handle them. And how do I sight in m own life, decisions and choices? I go to the Lord’s Word. His Word has the answers and the Holy Spirit will give direction. My own ways or the world’s ways will not.

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” -Romans 12:2

So, whenever a challenge in life presents itself, I am prepared to take a shot at it because my sights are ready to go. I am aligning them with the Lord day after day, to make sure they never move or get out of place. I dare you to take that challenge!

.     .     .     .     .

Even though it was too wet to harvest this weekend, we still were able to help move the combine to the field and get it ready for starting Monday! Also, some tillage was done and the road in front of the hog barn was graded to be even and fresh looking!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
