the Slow Lane

I am in general not a very patient person. And I do not enjoy sitting still very much. In fact, I have been informed that I always have been an “on-the-go” type of person, wanted to go everywhere and anywhere anyone would take me!

But, sometimes in life, a person has to take a turn from the fast lane into the slow lane. As hard as that is for me to admit, it is beneficial to do so at different times! This summer I have had the opportunity to be reminded of the importance of quiet time to one’s self and time to think and observe the details of what is occurring around me. For me, that slow time can be found in daily runs , motorcycle rides or simply a moment of reading while enjoying the outdoors. Sometimes I have been so consumed by the things I’m involved in or doing at a moment, that I miss all of the moments flying past me. And this summer itself seems to be flying so fast!

It is easy to miss details, like the needs in other people’s lives, around me when I am so focused on my own life and my own situations. I sometimes tend to even miss my own needs or neglect to spend quality time with the Lord. Something as simple as a recent motorcycle ride with the family reminded me of the importance of paying attention to what is around me and sharing all my thoughts, questions, concerns, joys and situations with the Lord. I was able to ride on the back of my husband’s bike, my father’s bike (when Mom wasn’t riding for a short part of the trip) and my brother’s bike (for the first time ever!) yesterday.

And on that ride, I had time to take in the sights around me, breath in the fresh air and just plain THINK about many things (it was quite a ride). It was at that time that I realized, although we were going fast, everything seemed to be in slow motion because instead of being separated by the walls of a car around me, I was exposed and felt like part of the scene around me. And for part of our trip, we were driving around lakes country and on a few frontage roads where we were traveling slower than the traffic on the road next to us. I felt as if we were driving in the slow lane. That alone really got me thinking about the importance of taking things slow at times, avoiding “driving by” situations in our own lives that need attention and situations of those around us who need our attention, whether it be prayer, encouragement, sharing God’s Word or simply just to be there.

So, I encourage you first to take a little time in the slow lane, whatever that may mean for you personally, and take a look at what is really around you in your own life and the lives of those close to you. Make some of that time be in the Bible and some in prayer. Then, pay attention to those situations, and don’t drive by! Lastly, take those moments of life in, enjoy them and don’t forget…life in the fast lane is okay too…at times! I must learn life is not all about my personal pleasure.

“But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith, that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death; in order that I may attain to the resurrection from the dead. Not that I have already obtained it or have already become perfect, but I press on so that I may lay hold of that for which also I was laid hold of by Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 3:7-12

 

Comments
One Response to “the Slow Lane”
  1. dianne says:

    Nice to see you back:-)

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
