Daily Faithful

As I mentioned earlier, I spent last week picking rocks. That job gave me time to think about what road the Lord is leading me toward for the next step in life, since I no longer have my old job.

The truth is, in my old job, while doing the same thing over and over everyday, I had become bored, complacent and unfeeling. I am the type of person that needs a challenge, whether or not it is presented to me or I am out searching for it on my own. But I had hit a spot in my job where I felt trapped, sitting at a desk day after day and destined to the same routine over and over and over and over…you get the idea. I had been praying for the Lord to reveal a new opportunity to me, or new adventure in “career” life, but no doors opened even when I would try to force them. And so, I now find myself in a position with no job.

Sound frightening? Well, it could be. But to be honest, I feel anything but sad, frightened or unsure. I am actually relieved, overjoyed to see what the Lord has in store for me and excited for a new challenge. And of course, this week I have been enjoying myself doing hard physical work that I’ve so longed for the past months. This might seem odd, but in reality, my husband and I have always been savers, so we do not have money issues to worry about, and I have faced many situations in the past where I know that while trusting the Lord, He will provide and I really gain nothing from being worried. And now I feel free, unhindered and let out of that trap in front of a computer.

There are many moments in life where I have failed to look at the joyful side or moment because I have been preoccupied with trying to get myself out of what felt like a trap. This situation has shown me that no matter how much I try, the Lord is in control of my situation and I need to trust in where He leads. Not only do I need to continually trust, I need to take life one day at a time and be faithful in all I do.

Take King David for example… he went from shepherd, to Saul’s harpist, to giant slayer, to being pleasing in King Saul’s sight, to being hunted by Saul…and the list goes on. There were many times David would hide from Saul, then he and Saul would make amends, then king would try to kill him again. Read 1 Samuel 18-31 for the specifics on the roller coaster ride David experienced in respect to his relationship with Saul. It is really interesting to read! And it reminds me that through it all, David remained constant to seeking the Lord’s wisdom and His answers to each situation. And He remained true to his friend Jonathan. _DSC1368

David himself is a good example of what it means to remain faithful to the Lord each day, no matter what may come. After all, the Lord is always faithful to us. Just through those few chapters I listed, it seemed like each day brought a new challenge or joy for David, and it was constantly changing. There is no real way to deal which such change without trusting in our Lord, because He is faithful through it all.

So, my challenge to myself and you is to wake up each morning and be faithful to the Lord, no matter what roller coaster ride we end up on! And remember, if you need to get away and do some hard physical work, I think we have some rocks you can come pick!

“For the Lord is good; His lovingkindess is everlasting and His faithfulness to all generations.” -Psalm 100:5

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
