Picking Rocks

Good hard work. Physical work. Real work. That’s just what the doctor ordered. I had the opportunity this week to pick rocks on my family’s farm. Now it might seem odd that I am excited about this, but exercise, getting a tan and getting paid all at the same time sound like a great deal to me! Not to mention that I get to be out on the farm, driving tractor and doing real physical work…oh yeah, I guess I already mentioned that part. In summary, it was a blessing to do that hard physical work after months of sitting at a desk staring at a computer for my job.

While picking rocks this week, these are a few of many thoughts that have been running through my head. And yesterday, I was picking rocks on top of a hill (which seems to be overflowing with rocks) in one of our fields when the thought occurred to me that this must be what it feels like sometimes for the Lord. Let me explain…

Where I grew up, an endless supply of rocks seems to pop up each year, providing us with the chore of removing them. The best way to remove them is to walk around and pick them, or they could end up in machinery and cause damage. Rocks can also prevent a seed from being planted if the planter can not get the seed into the ground. Not only that, but rocks come in all shapes and sizes, with different mineral make up and differences that represent the soil makeup around them.

I started to wonder while picking the assortment of rocks in front of me, if in some way these rocks represented sin in our lives. Similarly, the field in front of me represented me, and I was picking out the little stumbling stones one by one as if I were the Lord. He is often working in my life, picking out sins that cause problems and issues for me as I move forward.

And it takes work, because daily I am letting new rocks pop up in my life it seems. Often, these rocks feed my self-serving attitude. Sadly, while this is the case, these rocks prevent the planting of seeds of growth.

So my tidbit for today is short, because I am tired from all the rocks I’ve been out picking, but I hope you can take a little time to think this over a little deeper. It takes a lot of work to lift out all of those rocks, but the Lord loves me so much that He takes the attention, time, effort and care to remove those odd sins one by one, to clean me up so that I can be a fully useful field to provide a ripe harvest! He is constantly working in my life. And for that I am very thankful.

“…And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous; and He Himself is the propitiation for our sins; and not for ours only, but also for those of the whole world.” -1 John 2:1a-2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And just another verse for the road, because it has “rocks” in it, and it is encouraging 😉

“…The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge; My savior, You save me from violence.” -2 Samuel 22:2-3

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
