Kicking “Can’t”

As I said earlier, I have been teaching swimming lessons. And it is interesting what types of excuses kids will come up with to get out of things. One commonly popular phrase among them: “I can’t” (complete with a professional scared/frustrated face that they have obviously been practicing).

But what blows my mind, is the look kids give me when I say right back, “Can’t is not a word.” Some kids look at me with anger that I don’t seem to be buying their excuse. Others look at me with surprise, and then give it a try.

When I was growing up, my brothers and I tried the “I can’t” line many a time. My Father and Mother always responded with “Can’t is not a word” (hence where I learned the phrase) or “can’t is not in the dictionary”. As children, we knew that response meant we were not going to get out of a chore, get away with giving up on a project or get away from trying something new.

As a kids, we did not like that response. We wanted can’t to be a word whenever we did not want to do something. In the end, we were stretched, challenged and learned the importance of obedience. And we learned the power of determination, because we had no choice but to try.

I think many times in life we act just like that kids who decides he or she can’t. The Lord calls on us to do something, say something or be something, and we look at Him, say “I can’t” and continue doing what we can (or ultimately want) to do. He tells us back “can’t isn’t a word”, but we ignore Him.

Instead, we should be taking the attitude of “I can”, or at least “I can try”. In the end, what do we have to lose by going after something, trying something or doing something that the Lord is asking us to do?

IMG_0159Are we afraid of failure? Success? That we’ll have to keep doing it? Maybe we’ll be called to do MORE? Hmm. Maybe we need to examine our hearts and all of our “I can’t” reasons.

The Lord is so much bigger than all of our petty reasons. So buck up, drop the word “can’t” from your dictionary and give the Lord’s calling a try. He will always be with you when you obey Him.

“Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him Who strengthens me.” -Philippians 4:11-13

 

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
