Wintry Icicles

Icicles are generally something that brings me a smile of joy. Growing up, my brothers and I used to pull them off the house and lick them (even though we were told they would make our throats sore) or stick them in snow to create things. But they were still fun anyways!

Last weekend, my husband and I went to a couple’s retreat at the camp at which I used to work. And along the north end of the chapel, there were icicles galore. And so of course I had to get up close to take a look at the beautiful sight from below. And while the icicles were dripping down once, I realized something: this could be dangerous. So, as I began walking away, it was as if the icicles knew what I was thinking and a few of them dropped right in front of me.

As simple as that, something so remarkable and innocent became something dangerous.

The same is in our relationship with the Lord, or for that matter my marriage (seeing as I was at a couple’s retreat). Some things can be in our lives that are good, but we become so focused on them that they become dangerous…taking our time and our attention.

“’Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or stead; for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.’” –Matthew 6:19-21

“’But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.’” –Matthew 6:33-34

And we no longer are spending our time with our Father or giving our spouse attention, but instead those relationships have become a part of our automated life. Ultimately, our relationships suffer.

“I will bless the Lord who has counseled me; Indeed, my mind instructs me in the night. I have set the Lord continually before me; Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore, my heart is glad and my glory rejoices; My flesh also will dwell securely. For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol; Nor will You allow Your Holy One to undergo decay. You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.” –Psalm 16:7-11

But thankfully God is bigger than it all. We can call to Him to restore our relationships and spend time with Him to know Him more.

““Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel and his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts: ‘I am the first and I am the last, and there is no God besides Me. Who is like Me? Let him proclaim and declare it; Yes, let him recount it to Me in order, From the time that I established the ancient nation. And let them declare to them the things that are coming and the events that are going to take place. Do not tremble and do not be afraid; Have I not long since announced it to you and declared it? And you are My witnesses. Is there any God besides Me, or is there any other Rock? I know of none.’” Those who fashion a graven image are all of them futile, and their precious things are of no profit; even their own witnesses fail to see or know, so that they will be put to shame.” –Isaiah 44:6-9

Something as innocent as frozen water can be dangerous when we are drawn in and forget to focus on what is really important. More than anything I just want to impress upon you how important it is to keep Jesus as your focus, He is ultimately Who we continue to live for. It is He who made us and all the beauty around us.

Here’s a few other photos from the weekend to make you smile. Our theme was 50s, as it is camp’s 50th Anniversary this year!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
