John Deere Barbie

I saw it on the shelves my freshman year of college. Only $20…hmm, I thought. Pay for this wonderful little collector toy that would make me smile and show off my country farming roots, or use the money for gas to go home and see my family? Well, at a time when I saved every penny to pay for college and extra money was spent to go spend time with my family, I figured family time was more valuable. And I could just buy this FANTASTIC item off the shelf any other time, right?

Well, after about a year being on shelves, the item I had thought would last a while, was nowhere to be found. I have to say I was a little disappointed I didn’t just buy John Deere Barbie when she came out. (Not the toy you would generally expect a girl my age to want, huh? Well…I think everyone is full of different surprises!) I did not regret my decision to put my money toward gas, but wondered how I could get my hands on the doll. For years I checked online, unable to find the Barbie.

20121221-121553.jpgSo, imagine my surprise as I carefully unwrapped a Barbie-box shaped present from my husband and found….yep, my very own John Deere Barbie! I was SOOO excited…well, to be honest, I STILL am excited! I immediately put up the doll by our Christmas tree. What good would she be hiding in a box?!

After many trips with me down the Barbie aisle in hopes of seeing the doll on the shelf again, I think my dear husband is tired of seeing tons of pink and fluff. And so he took matters into his own hands and searched out John Deere Barbie for me!

Ever receive a Christmas gift you were just so excited about? Well, let me tell you…the excitement and happiness it brings! But, on a more serious note, it is also a valuable reminder that the happiness that little gift brings to us is so small in comparison to the joy we can receive from our Father.

And, as we celebrate this season, His Son was the ultimate gift anyone could ever give or receive.

“But now having been freed from sin and enslaved to God, you derive your benefit, resulting in sanctification, and the outcome, eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 6:22-23

And what’s more, the Lord gave us the Bible to share with us His love, show us what it is like to accept and live like His Son and to teach us what is true. Even more, He gave those of us who accept Him as our Savior His Holy Spirit.

“The God of our fathers raised up Jesus, whom you had put to death by hanging Him on a cross. He is the one whom God exalted to His right hand as a Prince and a Savior, to grant repentance to Israel, and forgiveness of sins. And we are witnesses of these things; and so is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey Him.” -Acts 5:30-32

My encouragement to you during this Christmas time of year is to remember, no matter what gift it is that brings you excitement and happiness, the best and most long-lasting gift of them all, comes from God Himself. Take time to thank Him  and spend time with Him. And, if you have not already done so, accept Jesus as your ultimate gift. Your joy will overwhelm any happiness any material gift could bring you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
