Breaking Bread, Giving Thanks

Today is the DAY! THANKSGIVING! Time with the family, LOTS of food and the traditional “family game.” This year is the second year I’m hosting Thanksgiving for our immediate family. And if you know me, you know I love to cook and bake, and even better-experiment with new things 🙂 (Which could end up good or bad.) And this year, new to our Thanksgiving feast are super soft potato buns. Yep, you heard that right. Not only are mashed potatoes going to be rocking our meal, but bread with mashed potatoes mixed in will be, too.

Since I made them with my Mom in high school, they have remained one of my top 10 favorite breads. When they are warm, they are the best. There are ultimately two reasons why they are my favorite. First, the mashed potatoes help make the bread moist and pleasant to chew (instead of the really tough bread I’ve sometimes had at a get-together…I know you’ve had it too!). Second, when warmed up it has that melt-in-your-mouth potato flavor. Of course, that can ultimately be dependent upon how flavorful one’s potatoes actually are.

Bread is spoken about quite a few times in the Bible. In Matthew 6:11, Jesus tells us to pray asking the Lord to “Give us this day our daily bread.” He is telling us to ask the Lord to grant us the bread that is adequate for our needs each day. I like to look at it this way: Jesus is telling us to ask the Lord each day to fill our hearts with the spiritual sustenance we need. Now, do I actually do that? Well, in all honesty, I often forget until something happens that helps me remember I haven’t asked the Lord to guide me that day.

So we need to remember to ask the Lord to sustain us daily as we face many temptations. Also, it is important to remember that we are not alone. There are many others who follow the Lord and daily read His Word.

“Since there is one bread, we who are many are one body; for we all partake of the one bread.” 1 Corinthians 10:17

My husband and I are blessed to have immediate family that is following the Lord and living daily in His Name. That’s all the more reason for us to LOVE this time of year when we get to spend extra time with our family. And today is no exception!

Just like the flavor of my bread depends upon the flavor of the potatoes I put in it, the “flavor” of my heart each day depends upon what bread which with I daily fill my life. I need to remember to daily ask the Lord to guide me and fill my needs, but also need to make the effort to be in His Word each day…bread to fill my spirit.

So, with that said, I hope you enjoy gathering with your family today and breaking bread together. Thanksgiving may have started in the early days of our country as a way to give thanks for food, but I think we have so much more than just food to be thankful for. And even more, we need to take time to remember to WHOM we are giving thanks.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
