Powerful Words

Well, I’m back from a short blogging break. I have been playing catch-up with some cleaning and sorting computer files when I grab some desktop time ūüôā So, blogging dropped off the top of my to-do list for a bit. Sorry! But…I’m BACK!

And today’s blog is going to be just a bit different than my usual. Why? Well, I was reading Micah (a book in the Old¬†Testament¬†of the Bible) this weekend, and just really wanted to share some of the Lord’s Words with you!

First, about the book. The book is named after its author and is written to the people of Israel and of Judah. In seven chapters, Micah describes a picture of God-the almighty Lord who hates sin and loves sinners. He points out the need for justice and peace, but also shares that God is very willing to pardon the sins of those who repent. Another neat thing about the book: it is an example of classical Hebrew poetry. There are three parts, each beginning with “Hear” (1:2, 3:1, 6:1) and closing with a promise.

So, here are some random tidbits I picked up out of Micah that really spoke to me while I read through the book. Some may be just verses that spoke to me, and for other verses I’ve included some of my thoughts. And I tried to make them look neater than they do in my journal!

  • Micah 3:5-12 – The Lord has really strong words toward those prophets and leaders who lead God’s people astray, or who twist the Lord’s Words. It is a serious thing to take the Lord’s Word to His people and twist them to fit our own agendas. It brings a standard to those who lead as well…to make sure that we know the Word, and are not interpreting it through our own eyes or through the eyes of others or books we read. But instead, we need to be calling on the Holy Spirit to show us what the Lord means, and also reference other sections of the Bible itself to gain understanding and wisdom.

¬†“Thus says the Lord concerning the prophets who lead my people astray; When they have something to bite with their teeth, They cry, “Peace,” But against him who puts nothing in their mouths They declare holy war. Therefore it will be night for you-without vision, And darkness for you-without divination. The sun will go down on the prophets, And the day will become dark over them. The seers will be ashamed And the diviners will be embarrassed. Indeed, they will all cover their mouths¬†Because¬†there is no answer from God. On the other hand I am filled with power-With the Spirit of the Lord-And with justice and courage To make known to Jacob his rebellious act, Even to Israel his sin. Now hear this, heads of the house of Jacob And rulers of the house of Israel, Who abhor justice And twist everything that is straight, Who build Zion with bloodshed and Jerusalem with violent injustice. Her leaders¬†pronounce¬†judgement for a bribe, Her priests instruct for a price And her prophets divine for money. Yet they lean on the Lord saying, “Is not the Lord in our midst? Calamity will not come upon us. Therefore, on account of you Zion will be plowed as a field, Jerusalem will become a heap of ruins, And the mountain of the temple will become high places of a forest.”

  • Micah 4:5 “Though all the peoples walk, Each in the name of his god, As for us, we will walk In the name of the Lord our God forever and ever.”¬†
  • What does the Lord require of us? “…But to do justice, to love kindness, And to walk humbly with your God?”¬†–Micah 4:6
  • Micah 4:9 “…And it is sound wisdom to fear Your Name.”
  • Waiting expectantly on the Lord? Be reassured, He will hear your prayers. “But as for me, I will watch expectantly for the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation. My God will hear me.” -Micah 7:7
  • I may struggle, I may fail the Lord and I may sin…but even though I fall, the Lord will . I am the Lord’s “Do not rejoice over me, O my enemy. Though I fall I will rise; Though I dwell in darkness, the LORD is a light for me.” -Micah 7:8¬†
  • “I will bear the indignation of the LORD Because I have sinned against Him, Until He pleads my case and executes justice for me. He will bring me out to the light,¬†And¬†I will see His¬†righteousness.” -Micah 7:9 –I just ask that the Lord forgives me of my sin daily, but also as He judges me righteously that He shows me and teaches me so that I may learn and improve.
  • Micah 7:13 “And the earth will become desolate because of her inhabitants, On account of the fruit of their deeds.”¬†Even if we do not experience immediate consequences for our actions…there will definitely be consequences down the road.
  • “Nations will see and be ashamed of all their might…”, -Micah 7:16¬†-That’s after God shows us His miracles (verse 15)
  • Micah 7:18-20¬†-Who is like You Lord? Wow. I’m in awe. Your Word never ceases to amaze me. With a handful of chapters, You have put into motion words that convey Your power and your might. You have encouraged me and given me peace. And this is just ONE book of Your Word!

“Who is a God like You, who pardons iniquity And passes over the rebellious act of the remnant of His possession? He does not retain His anger forever, Because He delights in unchanging love. He will again have compassion on us; He will tread our¬†iniquities¬†under foot. Yes, You will cast all their sins Into the depths of the sea. You will give truth to Jacob And unchanging love to Abraham, Which You swore to our forefathers From the days of old.” -Micah 18-20

So there you have it, just a few notes from Micah that inspired me. Read the book for yourself for more! Like I said, it’s just a handful of chapters, so it shouldn’t take long! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
