Different Trees, Different Leaves

No two things God creates are the same.

I’ve been part of many different ministries, friend groups, school and academic groups, sports teams, agricultural groups, leadership camps/conferences and other people groups. I’ve also lived in several different places at different times throughout my “young adult” life.

I am always amazed at the different types of people I am in contact with in every place I have gone and every group of which I have been a part. The Lord has created each person so uniquely, but yet many different people have similar interests. Sometimes, when I’ve lived in different places, it has been hard to find people who have the same interests and enjoy the same things as I do. Other times, I find a few people who I can spend time with doing the things I enjoy.

For me as a farm girl, growing up in the country, living with three brothers and having parents who enjoy the outdoors and encouraged us to be creative or go outside and do something, it has always been a little hard to find other girls with similar interests. They are few and far between. But when I have found them, I try to hang onto them as friends the best I can!

However, moving and changing people groups can make it hard to hang onto those friends, or at least to spend ample time with them! Now I am married to a fantastic man who has many of the same interests as myself, and it is a fantastic blessing! But there are still a few interests that we don’t share. I have come to learn that even if it is hard to find interests with those around me, I can get to know the interests of others. Then we can introduce one another to new, fun things!

I went through all this to say that the Lord has created us different, with different likes and dislikes. He has created us to be one-of-a-kind. But He also calls us to reach outside of our favorite things to do and outside of our own interests, to reach into other people’s lives. Get to know other people. Share our interests with them. Spread out our branches and get to know the tree with different colors standing next to us. (It’s a fall leaf reference…hehe, gotta enjoy the wonderful array of colors while we can! Snow is coming soon!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So even if you feel alone and have no one with similar interests…remember…it’s about more than you. And who knows, once you get to know those around you, you might be surprised to find a friend with similar interests 🙂

One last thing to remember…we all do have one thing in common for certain: God created us all in His own image. 🙂

“God created man in His own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female He created them. God blessed them; and God said to them, ‘Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth, and subdue it; and rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over every living thing that moves on the earth.'” -Genesis 1:27-28

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
