Smells Like…

FALL!!! Okay, okay. I know. It’s still summer, and if we say goodbye then it’s truly over. I understand, I mean…I haven’t gotten to go to the lake nearly enough this summer! But, I admit, fall is my favorite season.

And while on a motorcycle ride earlier this week, the air smelled of the beginning of fall. On our way back from riding around a few lakes in Minnesota, the feel of cool air and smells of dirt, grass and harvest filled my nostrils. BEST. SMELLS. EVER. Well, almost.

“There is an aappointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven-A time to die; A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted….” -Ecclesiastes 3:1-2 (check out all of verses 1-9)

Those smells made me think about changing seasons and how the Lord has filled our lives with different periods of time, changes, struggles and joyous moments. Sometimes those changing seasons are tough, sometimes they are things to look forward to, other times their are confusing or maybe just plain dull to us.

But the fresh smell of a new season always excites me no matter what the outcome. And when I may have previously going through a rough season, that fresh smell is like a glimmer of hope. All throughout life the Lord gives us little insights and fresh smells to preview a new season we are entering. Pay attention to those little glimses into the changes He has in store for you.

They are exciting, we gain wisdom from them and He is molding us into His servants. He has a wonderful promise. I trust Him to lead me through each season and into a new one…so that I might become more like Him and minister to those around me. As a season changes, I grow and my roots are tested in a new sitation or weather cycle. And He holds me steadfast through whatever I might encounter.

“…While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.” -Genesis 8:22

I just want to encourage you, that no matter what season you are in or about to enter, remember to trust Him through the good and bad. And when you might encounter things that you do not enjoy or are afraid of, look to the One Who can carry you through. In the end, you come out with more wisdom and understanding, and more refined to serve Him in the way He is calling you to do so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
