One Year

To think, a year ago today I got married. Hmm. What a crazy (at least to me) path the Lord has led me down! Three years ago I probably would have laughed at anyone who said I would get married right after college. Two years ago the Lord had already been working in my heart to prepare me to share a life with a handsome man. And now it’s been one full year since our wedding ceremony!

In this past year, the Lord has taught me so many valuable things, more than I can just list here. So I’d like to recap a few things from a sermon I recently listened to, talking about relationships. As it was timely to our first anniversary, it really made me think about how my husband and I have grown together in these areas, and also about the areas that I need to continually work on.

There are many things that it takes to have a deep relationship with another person. Trust. Accountability. Vulnerability. Commitment. Forgiveness. Selflessness. Affection. Affirmation. And the list goes on. These things apply to both marriages and close friendships.

A few things I have had to work on the most are selflessness, vulnerability and affirmation. There are moments when I just want things to go my way, but my dear husband has a better way! And sometimes we both have to accept that the Lord has a better way. Also, I am not always able to get what I want or do what I want…a very different concept from what our world teaches today. I now share my life with a special person, why would I want to throw that away for a moment of happiness or accomplishment? The same goes for our relationship with our Lord.

Vulnerability…ugh, uh…do I have to address this one? Yep. Sometimes it is hard to let the things closest to my heart spill out…but when I share all those things with my husband, become closer and constantly grow together. Why would I keep my secrets to myself and leave an open grassland of unknown between us? That’s like asking for trouble…and sometimes I need to be reminded that.

And affirmation. My husband is a words person. I am always reminding myself to make the effort to reaffirm our relationship in different ways, confirm how special he is to me and appreciative I am of all his work and the list goes on…why? Because I want to encourage him. Sometimes I catch myself wanting to chew him out for something I am frustrated with. Sound selfish? Well…now we’re back at number one. So, this is why this is important.

So now that I’ve been a bit vulnerable with you and shared some of my weak points I am working on…what are yours? I hope you are able to reflect back on the past year and recall the ways the Lord has challenged you in relationships in your own life. God never just challenges us in marriage, but also in relationships with family members, friends, co-workers, mentors, etc. He is always working and asking you to become more like His Son. So…look back, remember, learn, enjoy and move forward! đŸ™‚

And, as I close…I’d like to share one of our wedding passages with you.

“So, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness,humility, gentleness and patience; bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so also should you. Beyond all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs,singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.”

-Colossians 3:12-17

Well, tonight is date night…so adios my friends!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
