Old Friends

There’s nothing like meeting up with old friends I haven’t been able to see or hang out with for quite some time (usually its been too long)! I was blessed to have some old friends from a camp I worked at passing through town yesterday…and I was able to meet up with them!

Visiting with them reminded me of my working at camp the summer of 2009, enjoying our times of laughter (they were more often than not) and also challenging one another in our thinking and how we walked with the Lord. I am so blessed the Lord brought them into my life. I especially became close to three friends that summer, and was blessed to see one of them yesterday!

“Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful; and let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds, not forsaking our own assembling together, as in the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more as you see the day drawing near.” -Hebrews 10:23-25

Do you have any particular friends that have come alongside you in life, who challenge you, share interests or goals with you, you have fun with or who grab a special place in your heart? I have found that my closest friends are those who share interests with me, challenge me, I can pray with and with whom I can discuss the Bible and outlook on decisions.

I want to challenge you in the way you think about friends. I thoroughly enjoy having fun and good times of laughter! But, life is not all about having fun. It is about ministering to others and seeking the Lord in a relationship. JOY is what comes from doing just that. Finding friends is the same way. If we seek to spend time with friends who are just fun and we have a great time with, we are missing out on true joy, love and growth.

The Bible talks about the importance of friends who encourage, hold fast, help challenge one another to love and good deeds. Those are the friends I want. Take a moment and really think, do your friends fit into those categories? Do YOU fit into those categories?

I have many friends who fill those roles; those are the ones I enjoy my time with most. And I may not always be successful, but I seek to be that friend to others. That is who the Lord calls me to be.

I encourage you to keep up with those old friends who fill this role, and also develop new ones where you are at. I am blessed to have friends who I am close to from my past, from far away, from my current location and from newer relationships. God has given me so many creative, valuable friends. And I am thankful for the challenge He gives me to be supportive and encouraging to them, as well as their support and prayers for me.

*This photo is a summer camp staff photo from 2009. Several of my “old friends” who I just love are part of this sweet crew! Oh the memories!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
