Special Day

Yesterday was such a wonderfully special day as one of my dearest friends got married to her best friend. Together, they are hilarious, always full of joy and excited to serve the Lord. I was blessed to spend the day with them both and their friends and family to celebrate their commitment to one another in the Lord! She is just such a special friend to me, and today was surely a wonderful day for her and all of us involved 🙂

Being involved in or going to weddings, I’m always reminded of my husband’s and my commitment to one another. I’m also reminded of how valuable he is in my life.

We have a unique relationship that requires much more time, dedication, trust, forgiveness and understanding than any other relationship I have. The only one that tops it: my relationship with the Lord. And beyond that, I’m always reminded of how awesome the Lord is and how He knows the plan He has for us. I mean, to give each of us someone in our lives, whether it be a parent, spouse, friend or child, who is extra special to us…what a blessing!

As it is such a blessing, relationships with those we are close to are also important to guard and nurture. Weddings always cause me to examine my relationships, especially my relationship with my husband, and to check my heart. Am I really serving those I’m close to as the Lord calls me to, or am I seeking to get something? Am I really following the Lord’s calling in my relationship, or seeking my own path?

“So, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience; bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so also should you. Beyond all these things, put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity.” -Colossians 3:12-14

Sometimes it is easy to analyze our relationship based on what we are or are not receiving, or based on how we think they should go, not how the Lord things they should go. But, it’s healthier and Godly to examine them through Jesus’s eyes…how can I serve those I am close to? Am I forgiving? Do I serve with a heart of kindness, humility and gentleness? I’m afraid to admit not as much as I’d like to.

Not only was yesterday a wonderfully special day, but it was also a special reminder of how valuable my husband is and my relationship with him. Who is the person you are closest to? And how do you serve them?

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
