Answered Prayers

Here’s the thing. I sometimes lose things. My husband however never loses things (thank you my dear for helping keep me together). And in his attempt to take care of me out on the trails this last week, his wallet went missing.

As we 4-wheelered through trails toward some dark clouds, thunder blasting and lighting spotting the sky, a few big raindrops began to drop. My dear, bless his heart, stopped on the trail ahead of me to wait for me (Mom and I happened to be a significant distance behind him and Dad) and give me my rain coat. Little did he realize in his attempt to keep his wife dry, he left the back compartment in his 4-wheeler open.

A few off-trails and one main trail later, we stopped to regroup. And that’s when I saw the open compartment. Pointing it out to my husband, he instantly reached in to take inventory…only to discover a missing CAMOUFLAGE wallet. Yes, you read that correctly. We are in the heart of trees, grass, sticks, gravel, dirt, etc. And his wallet is camouflage.

So, in an effort to return one rented 4-wheeler in time and backtrack our trails before dark, we split up with a game plan. My husband headed back with the rented ATV, Mom headed down the trail the compartment was first opened on and Dad and I a longer, rougher path.

While riding, I prayed and prayed and strained my eyes to distinguish a camouflage wallet from the brush along the roadside, and hoped the thing hadn’t gone rolling out of my sight into the forest when he took fast turns. Along the path Dad and I took was an obstacle which Mom had witnessed me almost flip my 4-wheeler the first time I tackled it. Remember, we took the rougher path. Putsing along (which gave me extra prayer time) the tougher trail gave me more time to think about each obstacle coming my way, and this one I especially dreaded. After much prayer over the matter, a little prayer before I tackled the obstacle and a “you can do it” from Dad, I successful mastered my obstacle and my fear.

Eventually, I lost sight of Dad ahead of me, knowing where we were going I hoped he had better eyes than me and could look over ground faster. But as we searched, I realized how tiring the task could be after a long day of 4-wheeling. As I neared our meeting point about an hour and a half from the time we started, Dad and Mom sat there talking and Mom held up a little item I have never been so happy to see in my life! I discovered she had found it within the first five minutes of her search. (For those of you thinking that she should have called to let us know, you have yet to discover what phone service is like in the back woods.) My lovely man was so thankful and excited when he heard the news!

I share this story with you to illustrate a valuable lesson. Prayer is important. Do not ever underestimate its power. Or His power. You might say that we could have found the wallet without prayer. But it is about more than finding the wallet. Without prayer, we would have never so calmly went on our search, I would have been a nervous wreck just hoping we would find it and I probably would never had followed Dad back down a path I was less than fond of (in fact I really didn’t like it at all). And most of all, I may never have trusted the Lord that He would provide and we would be taken care of no matter what the outcome.

“Is anyone among you suffering? Then he must pray. Is anyone cheerful? He is to sing praises. Is anyone among you sick? Then he must call for the elders of the church and they are to pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord; and the prayer offered in faith will restore the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up, and if he has committed sins, they will be forgiven him. Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.” -James 5:13-16

Prayer is important. (Also check out Luke 18:1-10) And, I am thankful to say I overcame my fear along the search. A trail that I pretty much despised has become one of my favorites. It provided me with a challenge that just plain freaked me out. And when push-came-to-shove I trusted the Lord and learned that I cannot let a scary obstacle stop me on my path, or I’ll miss out on the discoveries the Lord has for me.

That’s two lessons actually. 🙂 The Lord provides us with so many experiences in life through which we can learn lessons! I am so thankful He answers prayer. And I’m so thankful we found the wallet…without it, we couldn’t have enjoyed another day in the Hills!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
