Open Road

Ah…fresh air rushing around my head, wind blowing my t-shirt around me and the sound of a single engine roaring down the road. The freedom and joy a simple motorcycle ride out of town brings to the hearts of two farm kids, my husband and I.

On nice rides like this I am able to just enjoy the outdoors, see how the surrounding farmland is fairing and be lost in my thoughts while my husband drives down the road and I ride on the back. And while riding, I realize, that it is the simple things in life like this that are wonderful to brighten one’s day.

And little treats like a motorcycle ride with my husband bring a little bit of happiness to my heart. Or, how making a batch of monster cookies with a good friend and then eating a few more spoonfuls of dough than we should brings a good laugh from us. Or, coming home to find the kitchen sink empty of dishes (thank you Mr. Aakre for this wonderful treat!) brings a sign of relief to one less afternoon of dishes in my week.

The Lord has provided days for us that are full of these little moments. Some days, it is hard for me to really pay attention to or enjoy these moments, and I miss an opportunity to thank the Lord for His goodness. In some cases, I miss opportunities to provide this bright little moment to the lives of others around me. So, my goal this for the remainder of this week, over the weekend and next weekend is to make an effort to pay more attention to the little details or little enjoyments of life that the Lord provides me with. And I will try to have the practice continue to carry over into the remainder of my days.

“This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” -Psalm 118:24

He never had to provide the opportunity or funds for us to have the motorcycle, which we really enjoy for getting out of the city on a sunny afternoon. But the reality is, He did. The same goes for the roof over my head, the clothes on my back, the shoes on my feet and the food I eat each day. Whatever it is that we may have, or not have, the Lord has given us each so many reasons to be thankful. He has given us each little moments everyday that brighten it…may it even be ever-so-slightly…He provides us with joy.

Take Paul for example. He was in prison for years, but he was still able to write and share the gospel through those writings with people all over the world during the past years and years to come. Now, as you can tell I like to write. So I would count that as something to be thankful for…to write while in prison.

Keeping his situation in mind, I believe that there is no possible way I can’t find something in each day to be thankful for, something that brings a little light into my day. The Lord is always my light and shows me the way, and without His hope I might be of a different opinion. But as a follower of Christ, there is no other way to look at this life He has given me. As I have said before, it is humbling to know that even in my sin, He provides light, life and joy. 🙂

“A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” -Proverbs 17:22

So, my challenge to you is to join me in my goal of looking for those moments each day, and to look for those moments when we can provide that little smile of life to others around us. And I pray that you enjoy your day, where ever you may be!

As for the motorcycle rides, I will continue to enjoy those little bright spots out of the city walls during the week…and take in the fresh air and wind in my face.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
