My Weakness, His Strength

I know I’ve shared this often already, but I love the lake. And part of that reason is because I love tubing. Growing up, my brothers and I were blessed to look up to our Mother, who made tubing a sport. In fact, I’m pretty sure if it was part of the Olympic Games, she would win and hold all records that would stand the test of time..among the many other things she accomplishes.

And, as every extreme tuber knows, a good tube can go a long way in how one balances and manipulates their actions while tubing. Our family’s best tube (well at least what I would consider the best tube) has seen its better days…and is slowly working its way into retirement…as it has seen about 2 decades of solid use and abuse. Now, if you are used to buying tubes today and don’t have one that comes from the late 80s and early 90s, you are missing out. What we call the ‘old tube’ is made with a quality inner tube and woven strong fabric on the outside…with a zippered inside. So instead of a flat flying thing, it is a tube with dynamic. (If you have no idea what I mean, I’m sorry. From my point of view, you are clearly missing out 🙂 .)

So, as our old tube enters its retirement process, we have tried out a new flat style tube. And here’s what I mean by quality…after 2 years, it deflates about a fast as a balloon let go into the air. Since that tube failed our quality standards, we bought a bigger flat style…made for 3 people.

Now here’s where my story really begins…

For someone like me, this flat 3 person tube is basically like riding on a circular object that catches air and dumps me wherever it decides. The tube is just a few inches shorter than I am tall, which mean limited control. Not to mention, as I no longer go to the lake and tube as much as I used to, I’m not as strong as I used to be.

And after two lake dates on this massive tube, it hit me…I’m so terribly weak. This tube owned me. I had no say in where it went; with just a little wind, it would flip me faster than I can flip a slice of bacon in the pan. But then when I rode on the tube with my brother this past weekend, I saw that we could hold the tube down and control its movements better (partially because he is stronger, taller and adds a little more muscle weight…and he’s just fantastic at tubing).

It is just the same in life. I was so humbled by the thought of being weak. The Lord is really my strength in all I do. Just like my brother was beside me handling the tube so we had better control over its movements – the Lord is by my side helping me to move through life so that sin doesn’t consume me and He helps me get up and walk away from a wipe out.

God is so good, isn’t He? Without Him, I would be tossed around by the waves and winds of life…but He is strong and helps me through all those little and bit hardships. I’m so thankful I am not tubing through life alone.

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; My heart trusts in Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart exults, And with my song I shall thank Him.” -Psalm 28:7

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
