Everlasting Joy

Joy. Simple Elegance. Complex Concept. Fervently Sought. Unattainable. Freely Given. Contagious. Beautiful.

Just like a simple bouquet of flowers can bring a smile filled with happiness from inside a girl’s heart, so can the work of the Lord working in my life bring a smile of utter joy to my lips. Unlike happiness however, joy can not be achieved. It can only be given.

“You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.” -Psalm 16:11 

Have there been times when you are going through the struggles of life, or a tribulation you seem stuck in? And it is hard to find that joy inside? Maybe you’ve gone other places looking for it…spending time with people, doing things you enjoy doing, only to find happiness, a short-term enjoyment. There have been times this last year I have struggled to find that deep joy inside. Sometimes it has felt as if my heart is breaking. And in search of joy, I’ve found short-term happiness.

But there is hope. Jesus brings hope. And through my tribulations I have stuck close to the hope that He is my joy. In-between those hard times, He has given me the joy I need to share with others. Sometimes it is a struggle, and other times it comes smoothly. The more time I spend with the Lord, the easier it is to find joy in my tribulations.

I know I’ve probably shared this verse often, but it remains one of my favorites. And it fills me with joy to read.

“And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.“ –Romans 5:3-5

And sometimes, in those tribulations I have felt lost, but when I commit all my desires, fears, struggles and daily activities to the Lord, He leads me through. He is my source of joy.

“Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.”   -Proverbs 16:3

And do not forget, because Jesus died on the cross we are able to have the joy that comes from Him.

“But I have trusted in Your mercy; My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation. I will sing to the LORD, Because He has dealt bountifully with me.” –Psalm 13:5-6

I felt compelled this week to share this little tidbit with you this week as I know that He is my source of joy and hope. I hope this is a reminder to seek after the Lord through both good times and tribulations, whether minor or major, so that you may always find the joy you need each day. 🙂

And I just want to say thank you to my wonderful husband for bringing me roses recently. Out of the blue, they brought a smile to my face and happiness to brighten my day!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
