Battle Lake

What a name for a lake, right? But, its one lake (out of many) that our family has enjoyed boating on for years.

I know, I already wrote a post about my thoughts on our day at the lake. But, when we were driving home another thought crossed my mind, so I saved that one for today! This one has to do with the rough waters we experienced yesterday…I left that part out of my first post.

Short story, we left our house for the 1 1/2 hour drive to Battle Lake. It was sunny, calm and there were some clouds to our west. Once we arrived at the lake, it was windier. We sat down to eat a picnic dinner, and as we ate, it became winder and slightly cooler. When we put our boat into the water, we could tell it would be quite the experience. So, desperate for an enjoyable time on the water, we took our chances!

Mom backed in the boat, and three strong men and I maneuvered it off the trailer and hit the waves. Literally. It was SO wavy! Battle Lake is a large lake, so we knew if we went for the other side, we could find some smoother waters. So that’s just what we did.

On our way to the other side of the Lake, we fought through some of the highest waves I’ve seen on a lake since we last went to Okaboji (my all-time favorite lake to hit up in the summer). But, Dad, being our fearless navigator, maneuvered his way through to the other side, battling the waves with skill. The rest of us of course ducked for cover every time a wave smashed our boat and went flying over us…only to sprinkle us with chilly water.

Of course, once we made it to the other side, the waters were calmer and we had an enjoyable day tubing and wake boarding, and of course a little unintentional swimming. While we were spending time on the lake, deep blue clouds were passing above us in groups, leaving some sunlight to shine through occasionally. And the wind slowly picked up throughout the afternoon. A few times we would venture off the smoothest waters. As we moved farther away, the waves would become greater and greater.

(Here are some photos of the waves of the day…keep in mind, I’m above the water, not on eye level…so they look less threatening than they really are 🙂 Not to mention, I didn’t get the biggest waves in an effort to protect my camera! Enjoy!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After we decided to call it a day, we made our way back to the landing…only to discover that as the wind had picked up, so had the waves. Knowing this would happen, we braced ourselves for a rough ride back. I tried to take photos, but gave up along the way when the waves became 4 feet tall and were splashing all around us (I wanted to keep my camera relatively dry thank you very much…although it would have been sweet to photograph those waves!). Sinking down in the corner where I was holding our tube, I began to enjoy a different perspective of the situation. I was watching from below waves crash over the top of the boat and my Dad, brother and husband all ducking every time. It struck me as funny, and I began to laugh…at which my husband gave me a funny look. (I had to explain later I wasn’t laughing at his displeasure of the situation, just at how funny everyone looked ducking every time the water came over…even when they would get wet anyways!)

Now…after a long summary of our day, here’s the point! (I know..finally.)

Sometimes we need to battle through tough things to accomplish the goals of the day, and other times we need to maneuver through tough storms to make it to our destination. That’s what I learned from our day…which just so happens to tie in perfectly with the name of the lake.

“I know, O Lord, that Your judgments are right, And that in faithfulness You have afflicted me. Let, I pray, Your merciful kindness be for my comfort, according to Your word to Your servant. Let Your tender mercies come to me, that I may live; for Your law is my delight.” -Psalm 119:75-77

“In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while, if need be, you have been grieved by various trials, that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ, whom having not seen you love. Though now you do not see Him, yet believing, you rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory…” -1 Peter 1:6-8

No matter what tough things or storms we need to make our way through, it is important to rely on the Lord & His strength, understand it is part of His plan and to avoid becoming discouraged but instead look to Him for our joy. That’s the short lesson for today!

So yesterday, the lake truly lived up to its name, Battle Lake. (Although I have no idea how it originally received its name.) But in the end, we made our way through and accomplished our goals. The outcome was a wonderful day on the lake!


Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
