Graduation Fresh

Tis the season. Graduation season that is. Yes, my youngest brother has graduated high school…meaning we are all done 🙂 What an odd feeling. No more rushing home to see football games, basketball games or track meets. No more calling early in the morning to say “good luck” before my brother’s run out the door to school. A door has closed in our life as a family.

Leaving behind the graduation weekend, Adam and I headed home on Sunday. On our way back, clouds were gathering to the north…we were driving right into a storm (which I find exciting). And as it began to sprinkle, I began thinking about the correlation between rain and graduation. Odd twist yes, but I was tired and my brain was running through the memories of the weekend while at the same time processing the beautiful multicolored cloud scene around me.

Rain is always something wonderful to me (unless it drags on in dreariness for days). It comes swiftly, smells fresh as it falls and leaves everything green and clean smelling. It is as if the rain washes away the old dust and gives the day or night a fresh start. And even if there isn’t dust, the rain still gives everything a fresh, new feel.

Graduation is similar. It’s like a peaceful rainy end to a good run, and a fresh start in another. There are great memories from those past days, graduation washes away the bad ones, and we move on to new, fresh days.

It is very much like the Lord giving us a fresh new start in life. Every time we sin, or go through rough patches in our lives, we are able to ask for forgiveness, start over, newly made. It’s like the Lord takes a rain shower to use, washing off our dust inside and out. The finished result is a fresh, new moment or day. And yes, we still retain those good memories of what He does for us and of those moments with people in our lives. But the past is the past, it cannot be re-created. How we look at the past can be cleaned up by that rain.

“Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols. Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will be careful to observe My ordinances.” -Ezekiel 36:25-27

So, as my brother starts out a new phase in his life, I am reminded to daily take a “shower” to wash away my sins and discouragement, to reveal a fresh, new life the Lord has given me…and to enjoy it!

“The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘Therefore I have hope in Him.’ The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the person who seeks Him.” –Lamentations 3:22-25

And if you are looking for an example of how to pray or you want a Biblical example of someone who called out to the Lord to wash away his sins and give him a new start, check out Psalm 51. 🙂 It’s a goodie! And I encourage you to check out all of Ezekiel 36, too!


Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
