Rolling Memories

Baking things can be a great way to take some time and think. I often will be processing my day when mixing up some yummy batter. And that’s just what happened today. I was stirring the batter for super tasty cinnamon rolls and started thinking about our drive back to our home from my family’s farm.

My brother and I had been reminiscing about past memories…things we did like army crawl into one another’s rooms after we were supposed to go to bed, or hiding under one another’s beds, playing “sumo” wrestling, or chasing one another around the convenient circle in our house. And as I was preparing these rolls, I realized I even had memories that included them.

One year for 4-H, I whipped up a batch of them, as perfect as I could of course, and presented them to my judge. We are judged about a month before our county fair so they can determine who goes to the state fair. This means that all baked goods are frozen between judging time and exhibit time at the fair. About a month after judging, my rolls were put out to show at the fair, and after the fair was over…4 hot days later…we had to pick up our exhibits. Now, usually when I picked up my food, it was time to throw it out, but these rolls looked so yummy, and they were nice and warm. So, you guessed it, I went for it. I ate all three rolls. It was so worth it, they were just as good as the day they were made. And thankfully said my prayers and never got sick!

My memory of these rolls may have turned out quite differently had I been sick, but currently they are still my favorite! I was really enjoying the memories, but remembered a verse about leaving the past behind.

“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.”

-2 Corinthians 5:17

At first I was disappointed. We have such wonderful things to talk about and share about the past. But the Lord began to show me that it is okay to remember past things, not dwell in them. He even calls us to remember the things He has done for us and the joy He brings us.

“I shall remember the deeds of the Lord; Surely I will remember Your wonders of old. I will meditate on all Your work and muse on Your deeds. Your way, O God, is holy; What god is great like our God?”

-Psalm 77:11-13

So sometimes it is good to forget the past, but other times it is wonderful to remember those good things and share them to encourage others! So I’m leaving you with my thoughts today. And a note to say that these rolls still taste as good as my memory told me they do! Sorry I can’t share this recipe, it’s a secret 🙂 Mom thinks they taste like Cinnabon rolls, so her memory is a bit different…that’s part of the fun. Telling stories of the same memory gets a person different perspectives. Oh man, I better quit before I start a new post on perspectives… 🙂 Enjoy a tasty treat today!

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
