Sibling Love

Today is National Sibling Day! And I just want to share how blessed I am to have three fantastic brothers: Cole, Cade & Evan. There are so many memories we have together. Each one of them is special in his own way.

Cole is an avid outdoorsman, Cade a fantastic runner with a big heart and Evan is a sports fanatic. And what’s the best part about each of them? They all grew up on a farm (and are good at farming if I might add) and are super God-fearing men.

Now, that isn’t to say we haven’t had our tiff or two…or three…or four…or, well you get the idea 🙂 But in the end, we were taught to forgive and forget…and so we have. My brothers have always been special to me and I have valued their lives so much over the years. Each one of my brothers has been good to me. From a young age, they let me farm with them (and would borrow me some of their farm toys to complete my work on my “farm”), play Legos with their leftovers (and sometimes their not left-overs if we teamed up) and let me boss them around. Wait, did I admit that?!?

All in all, the Lord had a wonderful plan. I learned how to play tackle football and push around on the basketball court with the best of them. I can ride 4-wheeler on the muddiest trail and keep up with them, unless I get stuck, which has happened. I can camp with them and not be grossed out by their fishing worms (but I still won’t touch crickets). Oh,they were so gracious to me as they let me be faster and taller than them, at one time…I guess they just didn’t let it last very long. And I value each of their uniqueness.

Cole has taught me about what it means to be passionate about something and go for anything. Cade has taught me what it means to forgive, be patient, and let things go when people are bugging me and Evan has taught me what it means to be humble when I have success. Also, they have grown so much in their relationship with the Lord that it is encouraging to see them be the men God has created them to be! I am so thankful for each of them, and all the memories indoors and outdoors we have! And what I love the most, is that we can spend time with one another, trying to do the things that each of us loves.

As I was thinking about how special my brothers are to me, it occurred to me that not everyone is on the same page as their siblings. And for those who have a tiff against their siblings…or any friends in Christ for that matter, here’s a Word from the Lord about that.

“If anyone says, ‘I love God,’ yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.”

(1 John 4: 20)

So, that is my “encouraging” word for the day. Remember, love you siblings…give them the time of the day…allow them to minister to you. I may be the oldest, but it seems I have a lot to learn from my younger brothers still 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
