Feeding Hunger

UPDATE ON THIS POST: I’m headed to Lexington, KY for the Alltech Annual International Symposium! Thank you all for your votes 🙂 

I have submitted my first blog post ever for a contest! Can you believe it? Nope, me either. Ironically, I wrote this post before a message I heard this week about God given passions. 

Here’s a sneak-peak of my post, go here to read post entirely and vote. 

I recently read an article which stated that every 3.6 seconds, someone in the world dies of hunger, that’s about 10 million people per year (“Investing in a food secure future” by Howard G. Buffett, AgriMarketing Magazine). In 2050, the world’s population will be over 9 billion. If agriculture production does not increase, more people will die of hunger every second than the current rate.

I grew up in a home that values life. So, when I hear statistics like these, my heart feels a little tug deep within: a tug to help those who are hungry. Even more, my family farms, which has instilled in me a hard work ethic, passion for agriculture and a love for people.

This is the beginning of my post for the Alltech Blog Contest. If you’d like to read the rest of my post, please go here and vote for my post! Thank you to all of you who go check it out! 

Into the end of the post…My dream is to one day positively influence the lives of those in Africa, but it starts here and now with the messages I share and understanding I gain. My dream is to help the dreams of the hungry come true. And until I have the resources to go there, my current place along the road is to influence those around me. And the only way I know how to do that is to be actively involved in that which sustains and preserves life: agriculture. Agriculture changes a hungry world.

Thank you all for voting 🙂 -Shawna

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
