a country testimony

I have a confession. I LOVE country music. Red dirt. Gospel. Bluegrass. I mean, what’s not to love. Driving down a country road, windows down, fresh air surrounding me, wind blowing through my hair….and the radio BLASTING country music! C’mon. What’s really better than that on a hot country day?!?

Now…for those of you who don’t really understand. Let me explain something to you. For a girl who grew up in God’s creation, to hear music with the sound of the country and about life and His creation is soothing to the soul. It’s really true when they say you can’t take the country out of the girl. And so to hear true, Christian country music…it’s a breath of fresh air, all day long.

“You care for the land and water it; you enrich it abundantly. The streams of God are filled with water to provide the people with grain, for so you have ordained it. You drench its furrows and level its ridges; you soften it with showers and bless its crops. You crown the year with your bounty, and your carts overflow with abundance. The grasslands of the desert overflow; the hills are clothed with gladness. The meadows are covered with flocks and the valleys are mantled with grain; they shout for joy and sing.” -Psalm 65:9-13

Today, I ran across a post of a friend of mine, sharing a neat movement called “I am Second”. It shares videos of those around us who have a relationship with the Jesus, and share their testimonies. Now, I haven’t seen all the videos and have not researched the lives of all those speaking, but I did check out the “about” of the movement. I am amazed at the ways the Lord is using people around the world to share His love, grace and forgiveness. This inspired me this morning.

Even better…one of the videos is of a country singer sharing his testimony. I have wondered about many different singers, but to hear them say “Jesus is my Savior” is reassuring to know that if I support their music, I am supporting their ministry. I know there are many other country singers who are Christian, so have fun seeking them out! (If you want to help out fellow viewers, just add those that you know are Christian by commenting below!)

Here’s what Josh Turner has to say:

Inspiring, eh? For all of those who have the country in us? 🙂 For those of you not feeling the country side of things, check out the I am Second to hear more testimonies. Some of them are really moving.

Let me say, I am not advocating for ALL country music…as there really is inappropriate and distasteful music in this genre as well. And I recently have been challenged by my husband to pay more attention to my music selection and look for solely Christian singers. And as a result, I have found myself doing research on different singers. Sadly, it is hard to discover tons of true Christian country singers. It has taken a more effort than I have honestly ever put into music. In the past, if I like the song and it didn’t include foul language or inappropriateness, I’d listen to it.

So, as I have been challenged, I’d like to challenge you. Not just in music, but the the stars, athletes and people around you that you are advocating for (c’mon…I know some of you cheer loudly to support certain athletes during games). Share those people with those you are lifting up and ministering to.

“A pupil is not above his teacher; but everyone, after he has been fully trained, will be like his teacher.” -Luke 6:40

With so many influences around us, it’s always a challenge to find pure hearts…but a worthwhile blessing when they have been found.

“Brethren, join in following my example, and observe those who walk according to the pattern you have in us.

For many walk, of whom I often told you, and now tell you even weeping, that they are enemies of the cross of Christ, whose end is destruction, whose god is their appetite, and whose glory is in their shame, who set their minds on earthly things.

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which also we eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ; who will transform the body of our humble state into conformity with the body of His glory, by the exertion of the power that He has even to subject all things to Himself. “

-Philippians 3:17-21

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
