Singing in the Car

Today started with a car ride to work, but no normal car ride…the radio was on, which is unusual for me-but my husband leaves it on and I happened to take his car. I generally like to start my morning drive to work with peace & quiet, with no noise at least for a little part of the day. But today was different, which was a fun change up!

Now I suppose you are wondering, “So what, the radio was on?” But here’s why I tell you all of this, a wonderful song popped up on the radio that really caught my attention. The song intrigued me and the Lord really spoke to me through the song.

The song starts: “Come on everyone, see what He has done.” If that doesn’t get one to start thinking about the Lord and what He’s done in their life, I don’t know what would.

The part of the song that really got me thinking was the bridge:

“He alone can save us. He will not forsake us. He remains forever our Savior. See Him reign in power. Stronger than our failures. Always and forever our Savior.”

I realized how much I fail, the Lord is always there. And He gives me the hope and strength I need to serve Him through each and every day. Inspired by this song, I checked out what the Bible had to say. Colossians 1:3-6 was what I found. It fits so well, I encourage you to look it up. What an encouraging way to start the day! And then I found another wonderful verse.

“Now may our Lord Jesus Christ Himself and God our Father, who has loved us and given us eternal comfort and good hope by grace, comfort and strengthen your hearts in every good work and word.”

2 Thessalonians 2:16-17

To sum it up, I started my day with a smile on my face after all of these encouraging words. Isn’t God SO good?!?

Now, imagine after the first part of the song catching my ear, me singing in the morning (before 7 a.m…possibly still partly asleep) in my car on the way to work. A huge smile on my face, I joined in, “Rise with a shout, cry out our God’s alive. Rise holy fire, burn bright, burn bright. Rise with a shout, cry out for freedom. Rise church arise, our God’s alive!”

So you just thought this is an encouraging message…guess what? It’s a joyously encouraging message ending with another CHALLENGE. It’s really hard for me to end one of these posts without a challenge isn’t it? Yes. 🙂

The Lord encourages us, and we need to step up and “rise with a shout” to share His Will, His Word, His Purpose, His Love, His Glory, His Saving Grace and all the joy the Lord brings through His Son our Savior. Don’t sit back and watch others be discouraged and hurt; instead, encourage them just as He encourages us. And just that challenge alone encourages me to seek Him and walk deeper, encouraging others who need His saving grace.

If you’d like to hear the tune, check out Andy Cherry’s Our God’s Alive.

Leave a Reply

  • Hebrews 12:1

    "Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..."
  • Continually still

  • …while runnin’ on the sidelines.

  • Romans 5:3-5

    "And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us."
